Tap the Magic Tree

tapthemagictree

This is one of those books that you don’t just read – you play with it. It starts with an illustration of a “bare brown tree” and the reader is invited to “tap it once”.  When you turn the page, the tree has grown one green leaf. The book continues on with more interactive requests – “rub the tree to make it warm” brings on springtime and flowerbuds, “shake the tree” and apples fall off. The author prompts simple actions so the reader can make the tree change through all the seasons – Summer, Autumn, Winter and Spring. It’s great fun! My six-year-old twins loved it, my two-year-old joined in all the actions and even I felt compelled to “blow the tree a tiny kiss”.

Author/illustrator Christie Matheson uses bright, clear pictures to illustrate the tree’s many transformations and bring to life the magic of the tree. You could use the book to start a conversation about the magic of all trees – providing oxygen, food, shelter… Or just enjoy reading the story.

This is a delightful book which is really lovely to sit down and read with children. I’d recommend reading it to children from about age two through early primary school.

You can buy Tap the Magic Tree from the Book Depository.*

This book kids love is written and illustrated by Christie Matheson. 40pp. Published in New York by Harper Collins, 2013. ISBN: 9780062274458.

 

*Disclosure:

I have not been paid to write this review, and the views expressed are my own. The books I review mainly come from my own collection, my local library, and sometimes what my children bring home from their school library. I also welcome books from authors and publishers, but cannot guarantee to print a review – it must be a book kids love. If you follow my link to the Book Depository to purchase this book, I will receive 5 per cent of the sale as commission.

Leave a Reply

